“That” Mom

I was “that” mother today.  You know, the one who appeases a wailing kid with a new toy at the grocery store.

We’re now the proud owners of a baby doll that sits in a pink baby carrier.

And I told myself I’d never be “that” mom.

It was already a rough day.  Lizzy took a miniscule morning nap before waking up and singing in her crib, messing up my plans to eat something nutritious at home before heading out on errands (we ate fast food instead).

My maniacal master plan was to drop off Dan’s car at the mechanic to repair the brakes and walk to the grocery store (Fred Myer) to kill the 2 hours it was supposed to take to get fixed.

But the early wake-up messed up the plan.   Plus, the parts weren’t in, the car needed more work than expected, and we were there for 4 hours. And boy was I tempted to lie about her age to meet the 2-year-old minimum requirement for Freddy’s Fun Zone…aka mom relief center.

So I let her play in the toy aisle when I was at my wit’s end.  Of course, she bonded with a little baby doll with eyes that close and a bottle that I mistakenly encouraged Lizzy to feed it, furthering the attachment.  Lizzy packed that doll around the store in its little carrier as we listlessly roamed from aisle to aisle.

When the car was finally done, I realized we had a problem.

When I tried to remove the doll from her grasp, the four horsemen of the apocalypse appeared, there were tears and gnashing of teeth, and people were stopping by to see if everything was okay.

So I put Lizzy in the cart with the doll.

And the doll stayed there through the checkout line (The cashier had to sneak up behind Lizzy with the scanner to get a price on the thing.).

So we now have a baby doll with a carrier.

And a mom who feels very humbled.

Ever catch yourself being “that” mom?

“Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you.” (Matthew 7:1-2 ESV).

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2012/05/21/that-mom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s okay to be that mom today. Such a cute story!

  2. Or “that” dad.

    Chocolate Peanut M&M’s worked wonders on my daughter’s attitude when she was Lizzy’s age. It seemed a small price to pay at the time.

  3. Amy, I don’t know of any mom whos not THAT mom.
    I love your blog and Friday captions !!!!

  4. I call it “Momma’s Gotta Do What Momma’s Gotta Do.” There are times when we HAVE to do those things we determined to NEVER do when we were childless and experts on parenting.

  5. I AM that mom!

    AL: Maybe we should make t-shirts…

    • “I am that Mom” on the front and all the things you do that you’re not supposed to do on the back!


Leave a Reply

