Place of Refuge

When you’re in trouble, where do you run? More importantly, where do your thoughts run?

Lizzy only started walking within the last few weeks.  She was 18-months-old by the time she took her first steps.  And I knew this was pretty late.  The doctor told me not to worry, but of course, I did.

I ran to my places of refuge.

First, I ran to history, family history to be precise.  I recalled that Dan and I were both late walkers.  Not this late, but pretty late.

But my worries weren’t fully relieved.

Next, I ran for help.  I thought about our insurance and whether it would cover physical therapy for her, if this continued.  And I found comfort in it, but not enough.

Then, I counted the expense of therapy, even if insurance didn’t cover it all.  And I found some comfort in our limited savings in the bank.

After I ran to all these places of refuge, in a matter of a few seconds, I realized that the comfort and security I found was all based on shifting sand.  These weren’t true sources of comfort.

Why didn’t I run to God first?

I keep doing this.  The last place I go is to God.

Why isn’t he first?

He’s the solid rock, the comforter.  He should be my first and only place of refuge.  And my head knows this, but obviously, my heart has a lot to learn.

What about you?  When you have a trial, where do your thoughts go first for comfort, security, and peace?

  He said,

            “The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer,

                        my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge,

            my shield, and the horn of my salvation,

                        my stronghold and my refuge,

                        my savior; you save me from violence.

            I call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised,

                        and I am saved from my enemies.

            “For the waves of death encompassed me,

                        the torrents of destruction assailed me;

            the cords of Sheol entangled me;

                        the snares of death confronted me.

            “In my distress I called upon the LORD;

                        to my God I called.

            From his temple he heard my voice,

                        and my cry came to his ears.

(2 Samuel 22:2-7 ESV)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2012/03/29/place-of-refuge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am thanking God for Lizzie and all the places God will have her go in her life.

    AL: Thanks Jill! Glad she’ll be headed there on two feet.

  2. I do this all the time and I don’t know why! Because once I turn to him, I get a sense of peace, and then wonder why I didn’t go to him first, lol! It must be human nature to look at the physical things around us first, which are, like you said, just like shifting sand.
    Great reminder, thanks!

    AL: Thanks for stopping by and sharing! Isn’t amazing how our heads know what we should do, but it takes forever for our hearts to learn it!

    • Yes, exactly!

  3. Our children walked late and as far as diapers go, I thought they would be in high school before that would ever happen. Alas, they are now, by my reckoning, normal adults. Phew!

    AL: Diapers next, oh boy. I’m learning so much about God’s timing through the experience of raising this little one!

  4. God is the only One that is capable of supplying our every need and being our Perfect shield.
    Many times I have to remind myself that all things work together for good for those that love and trust HIM.

    AL: Awww, thanks for sharing this, dad!


Leave a Reply

