God is Bigger than This

By NASA. Photo taken by either Harrison Schmitt or Ron Evans (of the Apollo 17 crew)

It’s really handy to have some “go to” phrases, truth for when life gets rough.  I’ve already told you about “God is in control.” That’s been life changing for me.

But my New Year’s resolution to fear the Lord more in 2012 has taught me another one, just as helpful, if not better than the last.

“God is bigger than this.”

No matter what I’m going through, no matter how earth shattering, how grand-scale, monumental, and colossal…God is bigger.

That’s one thing I’m learning about the Fear of the Lord.  When we fear God, we stand (or kneel) in awe of his greatness.   His BIGNESS.  He is big, and we are small.  But he’s also bigger than anything else we can imagine.

I thought my worries were big.  God is BIGGER.

I thought the news about Lizzy’s eyes was big.  God is BIGGER.

When we serve and recognize a mighty God who is more powerful, more life changing, more present, more knowing, more in control, and more loving…we know a God who is BIGGER than everything we encounter, everything that happens to us, everyone we know, and everyone who hurts us.

And all our problems seem pretty dang small.

This doesn’t mean our problems aren’t significant.  The same big God of the universe died for the sin that causes all those problems in our lives.   This big God takes our little problems very seriously.

With that much bigness focused on such littleness, well, you know who wins.

Jesus does.  And so do we, if we place our trust in his BIGNESS.

The heavens declare the glory of God,
    and the sky aboveproclaims his handiwork.
Day to day pours out speech,
    and night to night reveals knowledge.
 There is no speech, nor are there words,
    whose voice is not heard.
  Their voice goes out through all the earth,
    and their words to the end of the world.
In them he has set a tent for the sun,
which comes out like a bridegroom leaving his chamber,
    and, like a strong man, runs its course with joy.
 Its rising is from the end of the heavens,
    and its circuit to the end of them,
    and there is nothing hidden from its heat.

Psalm 19:1-6

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2012/02/16/god-is-bigger-than-this/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh, Amy, this so ministered to my heart tonight. Yes, my problems are huge and too numerous to list. I daily remind myself that nothing is out of the Lord’s plan. Now, I will daily remind myself that GOD is bigger. We truly are blessed to have such a wonderful heavenly Father, aren’t we! Thanks for sharing your heart.

  2. A scripture that helps me gain perspective is Psalm 124. If GOD hadn’t been in this situation, it would have been so much worse.

  3. “…God is BIGGER…”

    He is. Now, if only my inner knower would really know and understand this truth.

  4. Love the picture of the Earth in relation to how big God is. Reminds me of when Thomas told me “Jesus is big and outer space is small.”

    http://www.thispile.com/archives/believe-like-a-child


Leave a Reply

