Smelling the Roses

Okay, so I know it’s cliché, but Lizzy and I stopped to smell the roses yesterday. We also stopped to point at and smack around some balloons.

I’m an agenda driven person. I like to know the plan for the day long before the day starts. I know how long I’ve allotted to get from point A to point B, and I’m not too happy about detours, interruptions, and unforeseen obstacles getting in my way.

So can you imagine how challenging it is to have a little one who competes with an agenda of her own?

But my plan didn’t account for lovely roses, perfectly in bloom, a beautiful array of purples, pinks, reds, and yellows, free along the sidewalk for anyone to smell and enjoy.

And I fail to notice, like Lizzy notices, that every grocery store has balloons at the checkout stands. Did you ever notice that? And some are gigantic! They also come in animal shapes. Some even play music.

You should hear her try to call my attention to the balloons. I’m in my own world, headed to point B, and she starts saying “Baa boo” “Booo Booo” Baa baaa baaa baaaaaa.” And she points and gesticulates wildly toward the sky. Believe it or not, I sometimes miss these highly elaborate cues.

So Lizzy interrupts my plans. She makes me stop, constantly, and messes up my schedule.

And I’m loving it. Well, sometimes I’m loving it. Because I see how I’m imperfect, and I need reminders to stop, smell, touch, enjoy, and be.

Many are the plans in the mind of a man,

but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand. (Proverbs 19:21)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2011/09/14/smelling-the-roses/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very nicely written 🙂 This is something I needed to read. I know that I need to appreciate when my children do things like this, but reading it straight from another mother is a great reminder 🙂

    AL: Thanks for the kind comment Cher, and thanks for visiting my site! We moms need to stick together to keep each other sane.

  2. I’m normally a focused, keep your eye on the ball, no deviations type of person, too. But children, grandchildren, my wife and God have changed me enough so that I just grimace a little and die a lot when I’m interrupted….that is most of the time.


Leave a Reply

