Whining for things we can’t have

“Lizzy, stop whining for things you can’t have.”

I overheard Dan telling Lizzy this at the dinner table last night, and I had to laugh. She must be my daughter.

She seems to suffer from the same lack of contentment that plagues me.

I don’t know what in particular Lizzy wanted, but usually it involves food off daddy’s plate, or better yet, daddy’s knife and fork.

You’d think she didn’t just consume a huge quantity of fresh pureed foods, including favorites like mangoes and bananas. She told me she didn’t want any more by pushing aside the spoon and firmly closing her mouth. But once she got on Dan’s lap (a ritual at the end of dinner, so I can finish eating), she saw leftovers on Dan’s plate and decided his food looked pretty tasty. But a minute prior, she’d had enough.

And me, I’ve got plenty of my own stuff. But it doesn’t stop me from looking at other people’s stuff and wanting it too.

Lizzy also begs for Dan’s knife and fork, which we don’t let her have because she’s going to do what she does with everything else and stick it directly in her mouth until she gags. Lizzy’s good daddy knows that she does this, so he’s saving us a trip to the ER.

And there are times I pine for things like a shiny new car, an exotic vacation somewhere, or some more hours of sleep, and my father in heaven knows that I’ll probably do something foolish when I get these things. Or they aren’t what I really need.

Both mommy and Lizzy need to stop whining for things we can’t have and focus on being content with our many blessings.

Published in: on April 21, 2011 at 3:55 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2011/04/21/whining-for-things-we-cant-have/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Almost missed this entry – didn’t see the email…
    but it reminded me of an old poem, and the fact
    that our needs are met and our Blessings are great,
    thanks to our Loving Father!

    DRINKING FROM MY SAUCER

    I’ve never made a fortune
    and it’s probably too late now.
    But I don’t worry about that much,
    I’m happy anyhow.

    And as I go along life’s way,
    I’m reaping better than I sowed.
    I’m drinking from my saucer,
    ‘Cause my cup has overflowed.

    I haven’t got a lot of riches,
    and sometimes the going’s tough.
    But I’ve got loved ones around me,
    and that makes me rich enough.

    I thank God for his blessings,
    and the mercies He’s bestowed.
    I’m drinking from my saucer,
    ’cause my cup has overflowed.

    Unknown author


Leave a Reply

