Introducting Elizabeth Rose Letinsky

I apologize profusely for failing to give a prompt update about the birth of our little one. Frankly, she’s the reason I haven’t done it yet! I haven’t had a spare moment to myself for 2 months…all those moments get devoted to sleep!

Elizabeth Rose Letinsky was born 3 weeks early, on August 3rd. She was 7 lbs 9 oz and 19.5 inches long.

My water broke at 1:30 a.m., and after the mad dash to the hospital, we were informed that I was already in active labor and very far dilated. I didn’t need the doctor to tell me that…I was too busy screaming for pain meds. It turns out I had good reason to want them, since Lizzy was sunny side up, one of the most painful ways to deliver a baby. Top that off with 4 hours of pushing, and you have a fairly strenuous delivery. But I praise God for a fabulous epidural, which allowed me to move about freely, without which I couldn’t have avoided a c-section.

Lizzy came home with us the day after she was born. And from the start, she was very opinionated about a lot of things. Mainly, she didn’t want to get put down…ever. So, we spent the first few weeks with her holding her all the time. But now, she’s starting to accept life outside our arms and actually enjoys playing with some toys and books on the floor…for a couple minutes.

She’s had her share of trials in this short time on earth. We found out she’s got severe acid reflux, which was interrupting her sleep, and it eventually caused her some pretty bad breathing problems. So we took her to the ER and spent a night at the hospital to monitor it. Now she’s got a fancy new bed to strap her in at an angle and lots of good meds to help.

Thankfully, hear health issues seem to be getting under control, and we’re starting to get more sleep. That means I foresee future blog posts, perhaps not immediately, but soon.

Thanks for hanging in there with me as I’ve taken a baby break. I look forward to continuing with the posts and sharing all the wonderful things we’re learning from this new blessing, and trial, in our lives.

Published in: on October 7, 2010 at 3:17 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2010/10/07/introducting-elizabeth-rose-letinsky/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations! She’s a beautiful baby with a beautiful name. 🙂

  2. Since you are so busy now, maybe Lizzy would like to take over blogging duties. I hear she is a very advanced child…

    EL: “Owl, Owl, Owl….”

  3. This is exciting! She has finally arrived – congratulations to you and the doting dad! What a lovely name you’ve given her. I’m very happy for all three of you and look forward to future posts….wheneever you find the time (no pressure!)….

  4. Utterly beautiful!

  5. all the best for your little family.


Leave a Reply

