A Bigger Perspective

The other night, Dan and I were saying our nightly prayers together, and he thanked God for an “uncomplicated pregnancy.”  I try not to interrupt prayer time, but I couldn’t help myself.  “What?” I said, a little confused.  Didn’t he recall the 5 months of intense nausea and vomiting?  What about the issues I’ve been having keeping my iron levels up?  Or all that exhaustion I’ve been dealing with.

Sadly, in doctor speak, those don’t classify as complications, more par for the course as far as pregnancy goes.  As someone with years of experience dealing with pregnant women, deliveries, and monitoring babies’ progress in utero, Dr. Dan knows what could go wrong.  And he’s just thankful that we haven’t been dealing with that stuff.

But I was still annoyed.  Couldn’t he see that I had complications too? 

And here we have a case of differing perspectives.  In my own little world, I’m focused on all the annoying stuff that’s going on in the pregnancy.  I compare myself to friends who never had an ounce of nausea and claim to be the most happiest when pregnant. Yes, they make me sick, and I can’t help but think I’m getting short changed.

But Dan knows all the icky stuff that could go wrong.  Thankfully, he’s been sparing me from all the concerns he has, or the knowledge of what could go wrong at any point.  But I’ve been around him long enough to recall some of the really bad complications he’s seen.  I’ve been hearing about them for years over the dinner table, and on many occasions, I’ve watched him jet out of the call room to rush a pregnant woman to surgery (it was always tough to schedule dinner together during obstetrics call).

And I know I’m like this with many areas of life.  I complain because I’m not walking as far or as fast as I want.  Or I get upset that our house sale didn’t go as smoothly as it could have. 

But there’s a bigger, more informed perspective out there that says, “Don’t you know how bad it could have been? Don’t you know how blessed you are?” God knows where he’s been there guiding me, helping me, even though I’m not content with the full results.  He knows what he’s spared me from or helped me achieve. 

While I can ask Dan to put my medical conditions in perspective, I have a harder time knowing how to get God’s perspective on daily life.  Thankfully, I have his word to teach me gratitude and thankfulness.  But I also need to learn how to ask for glimpses into his point of view.  For now, I can ask what’s the bigger picture here, and how can I align my thinking with his?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2010/06/23/a-bigger-perspective/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your great title and knowing your condition caught my eye.

    Looking back, I remember one time when I was going through a tough situation and said to the Lord, “I’m so lonely, Lord; I can hardly stand it.”

    Almost instantly, the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart, “Son, it was lonely at the cross.”

    His words put everything into the proper perspective for me at that moment.

    AL: That’s a lovely example! It’s true, if we are talking with God regularly, he’ll share with us his perspective. Just as long as we’re listening and willing to step back from our own limited view.

  2. While I know that it is a means by which God stretches us, frankly it drives me crazy that everything always has a “could have been better/could have been worse” aspect to it. Each pregnancy creates its own special trials and traits, but would it be better if every baby got dropped from a vending machine…with each delivery experience identical?

    Your own “upside” to consider: in the future, the women who sailed through pregnancy without a single complain aren’t very interesting at hen parties when pregnancy stories are being shared. Nowdays, the stories have been expanded to “what we had to do to get pregnant” too. Seriously TMI!


Leave a Reply

