God’s My Sugar Daddy

I’m not sure how I got here, but somewhere along the line, I started treating God like my sugar daddy.

A woman treats her sugar daddy with special care, gives him whatever he wants (or she thinks he wants), to get what she wants. It’s not so much a relationship as it is an economic exchange.  He has something she wants, and she’ll do what’s necessary to get it.

For me, that means going through the motions—saying my prayers and reading the Bible daily, because I want to do all the right things, the pleasing things.  And I’m focused on the quantifiable rewards that come with it, such as answered prayers and surprise blessings.

It’s easy for me to fall into this trap because I have been so blessed. I’ve got a long track record of answered prayers and unexpected gifts.  He’s been a good sugar daddy to me.

But then, I realized that my relationship with God is like a marriage (aren’t we The Bride of Christ?), not at all like a sugar daddy and his woman toy.  And having a healthy marriage, I can easily see how there’s no comparison between what I’ve been doing and what I should be doing.

Certainly, a good husband knows how to give his wife gifts.  He’ll listen to her requests, consider her needs, and bless her.  But what sort of wife asks, asks, asks, and extends and open hand to receive, without the heart connection that is the lifeblood of the union?

A good wife is concerned about the relationship, about growing closer, about getting to know her husband fully.  She’s willing to serve him, to listen to him, to be there when she’s needed. It’s not a checklist of things to do, a list of requirements, so she can get her gifts.

So I’m repenting of my attitude, of treating God like a sugar daddy, of using him for his gifts.  And I’m trying to work on the relationship side more.  This takes time in his presence, time without pretense, without demands, without clamoring for attention.  And I’m seeking to know him better, through his Word, his works, and his people.

And just like I often fall short of the perfect wife, I’m sure I’ll fall short of the perfect relationship with God.  But the important part is that I’m trying and that I’ve adjusted my perspective to be more in line with his heart.

I will greatly rejoice in the Lord; my soul shall exult in my God, for he has clothed me with the garments of salvation; he has covered me with the robe of righteousness, as a bridegroom decks himself like a priest with a beautiful headdress, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels (Isaiah 61:10).

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2010/05/12/gods-my-sugar-daddy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thanks for sharing such an honest & convicting post. This was so good to read & consider in my own life.


Leave a Reply

