Amy’s 2009 Christmas Gift Books for Women

Just in time for last minute Christmas shopping, I’m presenting my top 10 picks for Christmas gift books for women.  I know many of you guys pride yourselves on going out for those gifts on Christmas Eve, so here’s some ideas for stopping by the local bookstore.

I guess this is an annual tradition, now that I’ve given lists for 3 years in a row.  For more ideas, check out my 2007 and 2008 lists.

1. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies or Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters

Any woman who loves Jane Austen is going to like these books.  I’ve only read the Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters so far, but it was a riot.  The book incorporates most of Jane Austen’s text and adds a fishy dimension.  For example, Colonel Brandon has tentacles all over his face, think Davey Jones.

2. Going Rogue by Sarah Palin

Love her or hate her, this book is the must have item this year.  Even liberals are reading it, to learn more about the woman who is getting so much attention in our country.  Her book tour has been a big success, and copies are flying off the shelves.  I’ve read excerpts, which allude to her faith and reliance on God through prayer.  A great opportunity to learn more about someone who has been such a focal point in the news lately, as well as someone who is speaking for American evangelicals.

3. Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child

I like to include a cookbook for all the food lovers out there.  And this year, Julia Child’s classic is the one to have. If you or a loved one liked Nora Ephron’s recent film Julie and Julia (just came out on video), here’s a chance to try out Child’s French cooking in your own kitchen. Local Seattle restaurants have been catching onto the trend by featuring Julia Child themed menus, in honor of the film.

4. A Mercy by Toni Morrison

Morrison’s latest book is up to her high standard of excellence, continuing in a time and place very similar to that of her classic Beloved . A very interesting addition to the story is the concept of white slavery, showing how slavery crossed race lines.  The book also makes the reader think about how slavery exists in their own life, making the term relevant for today, especially interesting if you’re working through finding idols in your own life. I reviewed the book this year.

5. The White Queen by Philippa Gregory

I’m a big Philippa Gregory fan, but any woman who loves historical fiction should also consider trying out some books by this author of The Other Boleyn Girl.  This book focuses on Elizabeth Woodville, the White Queen, mother of the famous boys in the tower and the mystery surrounding their death. Set during the infamous War of the Roses, this is an incredible time period to study, and Gregory’s knack for drama and high level of research make the book a very enjoyable read.

6. The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver

I admit, I haven’t read this one yet, but Kingsolver is a safe bet. I’ve enjoyed all her other fiction books (can’t say as much for the nonfiction).  Her Poisonwood Bible is incredible.  The Lacuna is her first novel in 9 years, causing Kingsolver fans quite a long and arduous wait.  Speaking of long and arduous waits, I’m still waiting for my copy to reach the bottom of the hold list at the library! She’s tackled a lot in this novel, a historical fiction in the 1930s, set in Mexico and the US, with such notable types as Frida Kahlo and Leon Trotsky.

7. Touched by a Vampire by Beth Felker Jones

I reviewed this book recently and found it to be an excellent Christian perspective on the Twilight books.  If you or a loved one has enjoyed the Twilight books or simply wants to learn more about the themes within them, I highly suggest this little book.  Great for a mom and daughter to study together.

8. The Lost Mission by Athol Dickson

I wanted to list one Christian fiction book, and Athol Dickson gets my vote this year.  An ambitious novel with some tell-tale Christian fiction pitfalls, but overall, one of the best written books of the genre I’ve encountered in awhile.  Check out my review to learn more.

9. Dewey: The small town library cat who touched the world by Vicki Myron

These last two books are for cat fans.  If you like cats and books, this is the book for you.  I laughed and cried with the simple story of this cat adopted by a libaray.  A surprisingly good commentary on aging in the US as well.  See my full review here.

10. The Devious Book for Cats: a Parody by Joe Garden et Al

This is the funniest book I’ve read in awhile.  It’s marketed like those Dangerous and Daring books for boys and girls, which were popular a couple years back.  And it’s written by the writers of the Onion, which should tell you enough.  Oh yes, they have a dog version too, but honestly, who would want to read that?

Merry Christmas Everybody!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2009/12/23/amys-2009-christmas-gift-books-for-women/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ll have to read Toni Morrison’s new book. Beloved is a well crafted work of magical realism, something highly unusual among Americans. If you are wanting to read about a character who truly exemplifies what it is to be Christian, you may want to check out my new release, Angela 1: Starting Over. To learn more, just click on my name and follow the link to my website. I also invite you to read my blog at http://www.davidabedford.aegauthorblogs.com. Thanks!

    AL: I’m not so much into the self promotion in blog responses, but it appears you at least read the post. I agree about the magical realism element being something we American’s haven’t quite figured out as a general rule.

  2. Great list Amy. First thing Monday morning I’m heading to the library to snag a few of those books.
    Think they’ll have the last one on the shelf? This might be the ultimate test of SLC Public Library system….are they really as good as American Libraries says they are?

    AL: Love to know what you think of them! (And what Tiggie thinks of the last one!

  3. I have been wanting to purchase Dewey ever since I saw the cover! The first few chapters are great, you can find them on Amazon!

    AL: I love it when books give the first couple chapters online. Lets you see if you’re interested. I’ve noticed that Google books does that for a lot of new releases, too.


Leave a Reply

