On Turning 30

amygrandpacakeOn Wednesday, I turn 30.  And I’m determined to make this a joyous occasion.

Over the weekend, I celebrated my grandfather’s 80th birthday with him (we’re 50 years and a week apart), and dozens of his friends and loved ones gathered to celebrate his eight decades on the earth.  When you reach 80, you are thankful for all those years.  But when most women I know reach 30, all they do is complain.

So, I’m going to look ahead towards the day when I get to celebrate my 80th birthday (God willing), and look at this 30th as one small stepping stone onto something greater.

Here are a few of my re-framing thoughts to help me gain perspective on Wednesday (and always):

They’re not wrinkles…they’re wisdom lines

Grey hairs aren’t unsightly…they’re a crown of glory (Proverbs 16:31)

Glasses don’t make me look nerdy…they’re a new way to accessorize

I’m not a year closer to dying…I’m a year closer to living, with Jesus, forever.

Physically, I may be weaker…but spiritually, I’m much more sanctified (Romans 6:22).

Anybody else have any re-framing thoughts on growing old?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2009/06/08/on-turning-30/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hope your day is great! I love your re-framed thoughts … good stuff! You have a positive outlook on life and I enjoy your blog. Happy 30th!

    AL: Thanks Susanne!

  2. I tell all who will listen that age is just a number and the only power it has over you is the power you give it. Happiest of Birthdays!!!!

    AL: So true. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Well, growing old is better than the alternative. 🙂

    Happy birthday! May the best years of your life be ahead!

    AL: I can think of a couple unpleasant alternatives…including the Benjamin Button version! No thanks!

  4. Thirty is great! A time when the body is still very strong, and there is room for both possibilities and mind changing and progress. I think people look their best in their thirties. Like a rose that is just past that bud stage but not past bloom, full of fragrance.
    Buds rarely have much fragrance you know.

    My daughter didn’t celebrate her 30th birthday, she had a blow out to say farewell to her 20’s, with everyone wearing 1920’s outfits. It was SO much fun!

    AL: Nice analogy! I remember your post on the 30th birthday party. That looked like a lot of fun!

  5. Best re-framing thought on growing older: “Thirty? You have to be kidding, right? Your can’t be thirty. You don’t even look like you’re twenty-two, maybe at the most, twenty-three, but certainly not thirty. I’m from Missouri: show me your drivers license.”

    AL: =)

  6. Happy birthday Amy ! Blessings to you as you begin this new “chapter” of life…

  7. To be honest, I LOVE my thirties. My 20’s were so confusing and unstable – I love love love knowing who I am and where I’m going and what I need to work on. All that came to me in my thirties.

    I suspect my 40’s are going to be even MORE awesome. I may actually be WISE. 🙂


Leave a Reply

