Favorite Cat Books

And here’s where I lose all my male readers.  I figured after reviewing Dewey on Wednesday, I’d stick with the cat theme and tell you about my favorite cat books since, believe it or not, I like this genre quite a bit.  Cat books are often quite funny, and it helps if you’re a cat lover, of course, but some of these books would get chuckles out of the most ardent dog lovers.  I’ve seen it happen time and time again in our home, with our resident dog lover (Dan), even though he’ll never admit it (and he probably won’t like that I told you that).

jamesherriotcatstories

1. James Herriot’s Cat Stories

Fans of Herriot’s All Creatures Great and Small series will love these adorable stories about cats and their owners, whom Herriot encountered while being a vet in rural England.  Told with Herriot’s wit and charm, you can’t help but fall in love with these small furry creatures that inhabit his small town.

cheezbook

2. I Can Has Cheezburger? by Professor Happycat

This little paperback collection covers some greatest hits from the famous “ICanHasCheezburger” blog.  If you like silly pictures of cats, with funny captions, this is the book (and blog) for you.  In the same vein, there’s the Stuff on my Cat books, with the Stuff on my Cat blog.  And the Bad Cat book with the associated MyCatHatesYou website.

deviousbookcats

3. The Devious Book for Cats by Joe Garden, Janet Ginsburg, Chris Pauls, Anita Serwacki, & Scott Sherman

This is the funniest books I’ve read in a very long time. You might recognize these authors from The Onion, which explains why this book is so dang funny.  I laughed so hard I cried at the chapters on “Felinism” and “Shelf Swat.” Fun to read out loud to another cat lover.

newyorkercat

4. The New Yorker Book of Cat Cartoons

I’m a big fan of The New Yorker comics, and when my copy of magazine shows up each week, Dan and I often scramble to see who gets to flip through it first to see them (but we always share when we find an especially funny one).  This little compilation makes a nice coffee table book, but it is a little short, I must say.  They also came out with a sequel, which is almost as good as the first.

dewey

5. Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat who Touched the World by Vicki Myron

Yes, Dewey cracked my top five.  I really liked this little book, not just because Dewey is a truly memorable cat, but because the story also had such a strong human component, with the small-town pulling together in hard times and the narrator’s compelling personal story.

I’ve got a long list of book reviews, including some that I’ve mentioned in this post.  If you’d like to see all my reviews, visit this link.  And if you like the book lists, you can see all of those here.

If I recommend any books that you’d like to purchase, consider buying them through Amazon using the links on my site, so I get a percent of the purchase price back to buy more books to review!

Published in: on May 29, 2009 at 11:30 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2009/05/29/favorite-cat-books/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
    Encountered your site just now, will be back. Do you recall the title of a fictionwork in which all the characters were cats, ala Watership Down?
    Tasha, Fancy, Buddy, Hollywood, Simon, Misty, and FritztheRedRat’s mom!

    AL: I don’t know what book that could be. I even tried a quick search for something like it and came up short. But if anybody knows a book like it, please let us know! I also have yet to read Watership Down, so that’s a great reminder that I need to get to it. Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

