Favorite Devotionals

There have been many times in my walk when I’ve used a Christian devotional book to help guide my quiet times with God. For those of you unfamiliar with this genre, a devotional is a text designed to draw a reader closer to the Lord, often in a series of daily readings. There are many devotionals on the market, and they differ wildly in purpose and content. I thought I’d share some of my favorites with you this week.

my-utmost-for-his-highest

1. My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers

Born in Scotland, Chambers preaching ministry eventually took him to many countries around the world, and his wife, Biddy, followed him, taking notes of his lectures. Apparently, she was an amazing stenographer who could record at 250 wpm. When Chambers died at an early age, Biddy published his lectures in this devotional, which has been in publication ever since 1927. Each entry includes a daily bible verse and a reflection on God or the Christian life. You can find several free online versions of the text, including this one, which shows you today’s reading.

devotional-classics

2. Devotional Classics, Edited by Richard J. Foster and James Bryan Smith

This book includes several readings from great Christian thinkers of the past including John Calvin, Thomas a Kempis, Teresa of Avila, and John Bunyan.  It introduced me to several authors that I wanted to pursue independently, and its material is thoughtfully arranged.

momentstogether

3. Moments Together for Couples by Dennis and Barbara Rainey

I’ve mentioned this one before, but it’s my favorite devotional for married folks to do together.  I’m a big fan of couples studying the bible and praying together, and this little book simply facilitates that.  I also like that there are discussion questions at the end of each reading to prompt you to talk about issues that you normally might not address.

womens-devotional-bible

4. NIV Women’s Devotional Bible, published by Zondervan

I have the shorter, New Testament and Psalms version of this, but I’d suggest getting the full Bible version.  The idea behind this book is to read your Bible but to have interspersed within those daily readings little meditations by over 100 women of faith.  It helps you keep your daily focus on the word but it has Godly women along with you for the journey.

our_daily_bread

5. Our Daily Bread

I have fond memories of this little book, which our church always had available.  It’s a free booklet, published quarterly, and it’s also available online with downloadable versions for your handheld devices as well.  The daily readings always include a bible verse and a very simple, practical reflection, often with a meaningful story.  This one is great to use at the dinner table with the family.

What are your favorite devotionals?

If I recommend any books that you’d like to purchase, consider buying them through Amazon using the links on my site, so I get a percent of the purchase price back to buy more books to review!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2009/04/24/favorite-devotionals/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A Great list! Hope to read the full blog a little later when there’s more time.

    Have you heard of Streams in the Desert? It’s an older devotional (Early 1900’s?) but full of great material.

    AL: I admit, I’ve heard of it but have never read it. I have noticed that like Chambers’ book, there are several online versions, such as this one. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. Thanks for the recommendations. Chambers I know and love and always find new insights each year. Having read his biography last year helps me also appreciate the daily devotional even more.

    AL: I feel the same way. I can always learn new things from that book.

  3. Thanks for this list Amy. I’ve been using D.A. Carson’s “For The Love of God Vol. 1” this year and have really benefited from it – it’s based off the M’Cheyne Bible reading plan.

    Other favorites are Spurgeon’s “Morning and Evening” (which can be read online), John MacArthur’s “Truth For Today”, and the NIV Couples’ Devotional Bible.

    AL: These look great! I’ll have to check them out. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

