Books about Satan and Demons

Tonight, I’m going to be attending a debate hosted by Mars Hill Church on the existence of Satan.  Pastor Mark Driscoll will be joining Annie Lobert in debating Dr. Deepak Chopra and Bishop Carlton Pearson for an ABC special to air on Nightline next week.

This topic has been on my mind the last couple days as I’ve been praying about the debate.  So I thought I’d list out some of my favorite books that address the topic of Satan and his minions.

thispresentdarkness

This Present Darkness by Frank E. Peretti, 2003.

The original Christian modern day supernatural thriller.  This one will keep you awake at night, turning pages and looking around corners.  I read this one in high school and was scared spitless.

paradise-lost

Paradise Lost by John Milton, 1667.

I love how Milton makes Satan so seductive.  He really steals the show at times, instead of always looking so repulsive.  I mean, he was the beautiful Lucifer, after all.  People find him very exciting, every single day.

screwtape

The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis, 1942.

You can’t get any better than the original version of this book. I get annoyed when authors try to redo the book in modern settings or try to make it better.  You see how Satan and his demons are very scheming and clever.  Don’t underestimate them.

holy-war

The Holy War by John Bunyan, 1682.

Another allegory by the writer of Pilgrim’s Progress.  This one is about the battle over a town called “Mansoul.”

dreamthief

The Dream Thief by Stephen Lawhead, 1998.

Another modern day fiction, from Stephen Lawhead, one of my favorite writers of contemporary Christian fiction.  This one is very different from his other work. It brings in an extra terrestrial, sci-fi element as well as exploring eastern religions.  Very imaginitive.

If I recommend any books that you’d like to purchase, consider buying them through Amazon using the links on my site, so I get a percent of the purchase price back to buy more books to review!

Published in: on March 20, 2009 at 2:17 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2009/03/20/books-about-satan-and-demons/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m familiar with all but the Lawhead book. I’ll have to look into it. I’m a huge fan of Bunyan’s Pilgrim’s Progress, but have never read Holy War. Thanks for putting together such an interesting list.

    AL: The Lawhead book is known by few, or so I’ve found. My husband introduced me to it. I’m waiting for some other folks to read it, so I finally can have some more discussions about it!

  2. A friend of my wife and I was visiting last week and she brought a book called “They Shall Expel Demons: What You Need to Know about Demons – Your Invisible Enemies” by Derek Prince. I flipped through it and tt’s not the typical book I would read but I thought about it when I saw your post. I was just wondering if you had read anything by him ?

    AL: I’m not a big authority on Derek Prince by far. I’ve read a book or two and I’ve listened to his radio program a few times when it came on the station I was listening to. I find him to be extremely charismatic and pentecostal, whereas I tend to be what my pastor calls “charismatic with a seatbelt.” He lacks that seatbelt. I tend to read what he says and take it with a grain of salt. Tends to be a bit extreme for my tastes.

    Now, if you’re looking for really interesting material on the subject of casting out Demons and such with a bit more of that “seatbelt” mentality, my pastor recently did an amazing series for other pastors on how to handle spiritual warfare. I think there were 4 parts. Here’s a link: http://www.marshillchurch.org/media/spiritual-warfare . I can’t recall if he gives some book resources in there, but he might.


Leave a Reply

