Little Amy’s Favorite Children’s Books

amyoneThis week, I’m looking waaaay back to the books I loved when I was a small child, before I started reading books that could double as bricks or doorstops. Yesterday, I went to the bookstore with a friend and her 18 month old little boy, who just happens to love books (we get along very well). Playing with him reminded me of some of the books I used to love at his age.  I have some new favorites as well, but for this list, I wanted to stick to the books that I loved when I was a child, five years old and younger. (The picture is of me when I was one year old and my dad reading to me. Thanks mom for sending the photo.)

theowland-thepussycat

1. The Owl and the Pussycat
This is my all-time favorite book. I memorized the entire thing by heart. It’s a lovely little poem about a cat and an owl going away “to the land where the bong trees grow” to get married.  Okay, it’s a little twisted, but I thought it was romantic, and I still do.  There are several beautifully illustrated versions of the poem, but my personal favorite is the golden book one.

tawnyscrawny

2. The Tawny, Scrawny Lion
Here’s another Golden Book favorite. I’m not sure what appealed to me about a vegetarian lion, but I liked the songs that were on my audio companion tape to the book, especially the “Carrot Stew” song.  The little rabbits that befriend a fierce lion, putting their own lives at risk, are also noble and brave.

childrensbible

3.  The Children’s Bible
I don’t know if this thing is still being published, but this was the version my dad read to me and my little sister.  It was filled with great pictures and easy to understand stories. I see that there are lots of new versions of children’s Bibles out there now, and I have no clue which are best. Maybe some of you parent have your favorites to recommend.  But, I have a strong sentimental attachment to this particular edition.

berenstainbearsdoctor

4. The Berenstain Bears
It’s hard to pick just one of these adorable little books, but my favorites were The Berenstain Bears Go to the Doctor, Go to School, and No Girls Aloud.  A happy little bear family underwent many of the trials and tribulations that every family goes through.  It was nice to see the bears handle it first, by means of introduction.

monstergrover
5. The Monster at the End of This Book
I could probably list many Sesame Street books under this category (I was a huge Sesame Street fan), but this one was my favorite. I love how it takes the scary topic of “monsters” and turns it around. It’s only “lovable, furry, old Grover,” after all!

Okay, it’s your turn.  What were your favorite children’s books growing up? What books do your little ones love today?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2009/03/13/little-amys-favorite-childrens-books/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. another cute little golden book is dr. dan the bandage man. always think of dan when we read it. =)

    AL: I didn’t get a copy of that until I was married to a Dr. Dan, but yes, it’s a favorite around here these days. I can imagine Dr. Dan will need to have a few copies of that in his future waiting room.

  2. Tawny Scrawny Lion was my favorite Golden Book, way back in 1958. My dad read it to me, and I especially remember him reading it to me while I had the mumps.

    Thanks for the memory boost.

    AL: I didn’t realize that it was published in the 50s! I’d thought it was a 70s child, like myself. I just looked it up, and it was first published in ’52.

  3. Hello, Our boys loved The Tawny, Scrawny Lion (even without the tape!) and The Monster at the End of This Book. Thanks for bringing back good memories.

  4. Mom sent me a photo that I just added to the post. It was what the post needed to make it complete. =)

  5. Um, wouldn’t that be “No Girls Allowed”? 😉

    I think for me the ultimate children’s book is Good Night Moon. Oh, and I also LOVED Where the Wild Things Are, although I think I was disappointed when I became old enough to realize that it’s actually just Max’s imagination.

    AL: Hehe, guilty as charged. =) Apparently, the Berenstain Bears need to work on my spelling a bit more too. I can see the next book: “The Berenstain Bears and the Bad Little Speller.” One for my shelves.

    Many of my playmates loved Goodnight moon and Where the Wild Things Are, in addition to Dr. Seuss. And, I can’t say that I ever got into those books. Not sure exactly why. My husband loves all those, so we’ll probably end up reading them to our kids (someday) though.

  6. I received THE CHILDREN’S BIBLE for my fifth Christmas from my aunt. It’s the only Bible I’ve ever seen that makes Jesus look Scandinavian. (One minister I knew used to call it the “Aryan Christ” edition.)

    AL: HAHA. I do dislike that aspect of many Children’s books featuring Jesus. Being married to a Jewish man, I have benefit of pointing to daddy and saying “Jesus looks more like him.”


Leave a Reply

