Literary Disney

cinderellas-castleThis week, I’m in Disney World, enjoying some Florida sun and hopefully, not running myself too ragged, as I try to cram as much as possible into each day.  I’ve never been to Disney World, but since I went to college in Southern California, I practically majored in Disney Land.  I’m looking forward to comparing the two and revisiting some of my favorites on the other shore, just to see how they look over there.

I’m going light on the posts this week, since I’m spending most of my time in the Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Animal Kingdom, and MGM Studios.  But I thought it would be fun to do a book post that tied in with my adventures for the week.

Disney can be a literary experience, if you let it.  In fact, Disney has made many feature movies out of great books.  I can only come up with a handful, but I thought that some of you might think of others.

1.    Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll (1865)

2.    One Hundred and One Dalmations by Dodie Smith (1956

3.    The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling (1894)

4.    Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne (1926)

5.    Histoires ou Contes du Temps Passé, avec des moralités: Les Contes de ma Mère l’Oie (Tales and Stories of the Past with Morals: Tales of Mother Goose) Charles Perrault (1697). This includes Sleeping Beauty and Cinderella.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2009/02/02/literary-disney/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hans Christian Anderson and Brother Grimm had some stories that became Disney movies, right?

    AL: Righto. Anderson wrote The Little Mermaid. The Brothers Grimm wrote Snow White, Cinderella, and Sleeping Beauty. Of course, the originals are wildly different from the Disneyfied versions. I should really be re-reading them for some fun times, imagining what it would be like to have rides and costumes based on those stories. I recall something about the step sisters cutting off their toes to make them fit in Cinderella’s shoe…not exactly worthy of a “G” rating. hehe.

  2. Living in Florida I go to Disney world all the time. Never been to Disney land in ca,Just the opposite of you.Thanks for the post.


Leave a Reply

