I’m Thankful v. 2008

I know I haven’t been writing much in the past weeks. I think I’m in a bit of a writing funk that will eventually pass.  Hopefully, it’s just a season, as I’m focusing on a lot of great ministry opportunities that have come my way recently.

So, today, as I’m recovering from a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner with family, I thought I’d list out some of the things I’m thankful for this year.  These aren’t in a particular order because if I ever tried, I’m sure some people would take issue with their rank.

1.     My Marriage: 7 years

With a 50% divorce rate in our country, I’m happy to have passed the 7-year-itch marker in my marriage (not that either of us was feeling very “itchy”).  What “they” say has proved true:  It does keep getting better.

2.    Recovery from surgery
Nine months after my surgery, I’m fully recovered and doing normal stuff now.  I’m so thankful to be eating solid foods again and be back to running and lifting weights.

3.    My Job
There are days when I logging into work doesn’t sound as fun as picking up a novel, but I get a lot of joy out of knowing that I get to discuss many of the books I like while in class.  I feel so blessed to have a job that allows me so much freedom to spend time with my family and pursue other interests.

4.    My Ministry opportunities
Dan and I have found a home church and love serving with community of believers here in Seattle.  God has shown me some amazing ways that I can use my gifts, and I am so amazed that He’d even consider me for those jobs.  It’s an honor.

5.    Family
It’s so great to live close to my family once again.  Right now, I’m enjoying all the comforts of home:  reading a cozy chair and cuddling with the family cat.  It was something I missed when we lived on the other side of the country (oh, I suppose I missed my human family members too.).

6.    Friends
I’ve got a wonderful group of friends that I’ve met through church, Dan’s work, my neighborhood, and various ministries.  Other friends live around the world, and this blog has been a great way to meet them as well as keep in touch.

7.    Jesus
Okay, if I was ranking these, He’d get first billing, and nobody should complain about that.  I’m learning how much I rely on his strength to get me through my day.

8.    My Husband’s Job
Dan’s my wonderful provider, and he has a good job that meets our needs.  It’s an honor to be a behind the scenes support staff for him and his fellow docs.

9.    Our Home
Earlier this year, we got a notice that we had to move out of our apartment when our lease ran out, but thankfully, we got an extension until the time when Dan graduates, when we were most likely moving anyway.  I’m thankful we get to stay in our same home, with our wonderful neighbors.  It’s been a great location for us.

10.    Books
We just had to buy 3 more bookshelves to support my addiction.  While it might seem to be a bit over the top to some, I am enthralled by the opportunity to learn and grow through all the books that I have available to read.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2008/11/29/im-thankful-v-2008/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

