Free Water from an Unlikely Source

Fun fact, Zurich, a city of somewhere around 300,000 people has well over 1,000 fountains around the city.  These people love their water.

I was a little taken aback when I ran out of water in my water bottle, and my friend’s husband (Chris) suggested that I fill it up in one of the city fountains.  I thought he was messing with me. In the states, drinking from a public fountain is something only dogs do, and even then, many know better and avoid the filthy pigeon poop filled water.

But, as it turns out, all of Zurich’s fountains have potable water coming from their taps.  I’m not sure who’s checking the quality of this, but apparently, this is the long accepted rule.

I’m still recovering from jet lag, but I think there might be a cool connection here to Jesus’ discussion with the woman at the well, about an eternal living water.  It also comes from a very unlikely source, and it’s free for all to enjoy.

Now that I’ve solved the problem of keeping hydrated, I just have to figure out what to do about the ever elusive European public restrooms.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2008/07/24/free-water-from-an-unlikely-source/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Zurich is one of my favorite places on earth. I’m so glad that you get to be there.

    AL: It seems to pop up on a lot of people’s “favorite places” lists. It’s certainly an expensive city, but apparently, it has a decent standard of living. I’m loving the lake and the public transportation system.

  2. Pretty sneaky: free water, no place to go. Another kind of Reformation is clearly needed!

    AL: HA! I think you’re right.


Leave a Reply

