My Summer Reading List Mystery

I’ve been selecting my summer reading list, and I’ll provide a few to see if you can detect a theme:

The God who is There by Francis Schaeffer 

Calvin for Armchair Theologians by Christopher Elwood

The Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce

Dr. Fischer of Geneva or the Bomb Party by Graham Greene

Heidi by Johanna Spyri

Any guesses?

Extra points if you guess why I’ve focused on this theme in particular.

Published in: on July 14, 2008 at 9:06 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2008/07/14/381/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. God’s Sovereignty????
    AL: Oooh, I like that one. But, no, it’s not what I was going for. Certainly fits well with Calvin. The Graham Greene and Heidi one might be the ones that challenge that theme the most. Thanks for the idea though. I’ll be certainly dwelling on that while I read these books, especially Calvin, and probably the Schaeffer one too.

  2. As much as I’d love to come up with a common theme here, I think the extra points will have to go elsewhere. How about a hint?
    Best guess is how church, family and surroundings affect our faith. Sigh. Crash and burn on this one.
    My summer reading has been paperbacks from the bestseller section. Who picks these books, anyway?
    It’s been 30 pages, into the recycle bin, 30 pages,
    recycle, 30 pages, recycle. I despair for a good read.

    AL: I can see that in Heidi, all about family. Maybe a touch in Joyce, even though he later rejected his catholicism (and religion of all sorts from what I can tell).

    Hmmm, a hint. This might just be more confusing, but I kept adding and subtracting one of the books on the list several times because I thought it was a dead giveaway.

    I promise that I’ll give the answer in a couple days if nobody hits on it.

    I’ve sympathize with the string of crappy books. I’ve had a few recent ones myself. It usually happens when I go with the recent paperbacks, with bright, flashy covers that I see at library. They always look so tempting.

    At this very moment, I’m reading The Road, the apocalyptic book by Cormac McCarthy. So far, very intriguing, and good for those who like scifi kinds of things. Fun to read on the heels of watching Wall*e.

  3. Switzerland? Are you planning a trip there and have something against Frommers or Rick Steves’

    AL: You got it! But no, nothing against Frommers or Rick Steves in particualr. Still looking for a good guidebook to take with me, but since I’m staying with locals, a guide book isn’t so essential. I’m headed to Switzerland next week to stay with my best friend and her family for a few weeks. I’ll be in Zurich. I wanted to read some Swiss themed books, especially by authors who lived in Switzerland, which is the case for these books. I’m going to write a post explaining the connection with all the books for you all.

    Thanks for playing along! That was fun!


Leave a Reply

