Back to Basics

It’s week 3 on this diet, and I’m really sick of liquids.  I started with Gatorade and apple juice, and slowly, I’ve moved up to thicker drinks. But I’m still in the realm of very soft, soup-like substances.  I’ll be there for at least one more month.

In stroke of brilliance, my husband visited the baby food isle and returned with some lovely meat concoctions to help alleviate some of my cravings for beef and chicken.  This past week, I’ve also moved on to baby cereal, which looks something like plaster  (For some reason, even though I keep offering, Dan doesn’t want to try it).

I called my mom to tell her how excited I was about moving on to baby cereal and how good it tasted (it’s amazing how good gruel can taste when you’ve been living off of broth for awhile).  So far, I’d only tried rice cereal, oatmeal, and some mixed grain.  I’d just purchased a box of barley, and was excited to try it.  Mom warned me that although I liked the other kinds when I was a baby, I hated the barley, and she’d ended up wearing a lot of barley cereal when she tried to feed it to me.

I laughed, but it wasn’t going to stop me from eating it. I mean, I was a baby for heaven’s sake. I’ve come a long way since the days when I was last eating this stuff.  Hello, I’ve learned to chew gum AND walk, at the same time!

As you probably already guessed, I hate the stuff.  It tastes all wrong, a little bitter and nutty, not at all like the others. 

How depressing.  I didn’t want to tell my mom because it just seemed to show that my 28 years on this earth haven’t accomplished very much.  Here I am, a grown woman, and not only am I back to eating the same stuff I ate as a 6 month old, but I apparently also have the same tastes.


(Here’s my food stash for the next couple weeks. The meat is on the left, combo in the middle, veggis on the right, desserts in back, and cereal is in the far back.)

Disgruntled and a bit humiliated, I went to the Bible for a bit of advice. 

Here’s what I learned.  We shouldn’t be ashamed to go back to basics because the basics are our foundation.  When we find ourselves going astray, always go back to the place we started, back to the beginning, back to our first love, and find the right path again.

The writer of Hebrews puts it this way:

We have much to say about this, but it is hard to explain because you are slow to learn. In fact, though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you the elementary truths of God’s word all over again. You need milk, not solid food! (5:11-12).

Sometimes, I get so caught up in the finer points of the faith or questioning picky elements of doctrine, or I just start coming up with stupid ideas of my own that aren’t rooted firmly in God’s Word.  I need to heed this advice and go back to the elementary truths, back to the milk, back to the foundations. 

The Nicene Creed is a good place to start, and my favorite band, Third Day, does an amazing job with it.

So, while I slurp down my baby food and take cuisine recommendations from all my 6 month old friends, I’m keeping in mind that every good and lasting thing needs a strong foundation.  I’m just taking a trip back to my roots for awhile. 

Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation, now that you have tasted that the Lord is good (1 Peter 2: 2-3).

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2008/03/17/back-to-basics/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You are so right about back to basics and faith. Sometimes I feel like I am playing tetris when I start considering the fine details of faith and my daily walk. I have to stop and go back to the big picture to get centered again, and de-stressed.

    Any chance they have pizza flavored baby food?

  2. Why not have your hubby puree up his dinner for you – that way you can share!
    I have a friend who loved http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com which is a homemade baby food site with yummy puree recipes – she had a jaw surgery and lived on homemade dinners from the blender!

    Back to basics is often the healthiest for mind, body and soul! 🙂 Best to you

  3. Your attitude is God’s grace in your life — I’m not sure I know too many people who would be thrilled at the variety of baby food available — for their own consumption.

  4. A day of pondering the amazing sacrifice by the ONE for us all…and thankful that you and your husband accepted redemptive gift.


Leave a Reply

