Muscle Tone and Scripture Memory Atrophy

A couple weeks ago, I bought new 8 lb hand weights for our home gym. They still have their price stickers on them, and I haven’t touched them since. Right now, I think they’re being used as a door stop.

What began as a good intention is now becoming a guilt laden eyesore. In the weeks prior to buying them, I’d been a bit lethargic about my weight lifting routine, and I thought it was because it was time to move up from 5 lb to 8 lb weights. I was doing way too many reps, and I was getting bored.

That obviously wasn’t the problem.

The problem is that I know that on February 26th, I’m going to have a surgery on my esophagus (correcting a hernia), which will make it so I can’t exercise for at least 6 weeks. I’m having a hard time seeing the point of lifting weights to build up muscle that’s only going to atrophy.

I’m bringing this same attitude to my scripture memorization as well. I know that even though I’m memorizing the book of James now, it’s going to go the way of Psalm 23 and the various other Psalms I’ve memorized in my lifetime. It’s all just going to atrophy. Part of me wonders, “What’s the point, if it’s all just going to go away?”

So, I took this Eeyore like attitude to my husband, and he told me that I should keep up the exercising to be as fit as possible for my surgery. I want to be as healthy as I can be to have the best chances of healing quickly.

I hadn’t thought of it that way (Sometimes, it’s annoying having a doctor in the house).

I suppose that the same goes for my scripture memorization. I should do my best to make my heart as spiritually healthy as I can, to survive the ins and outs of life, especially because I’ll probably need those verses to get me through some tough times ahead…even if they’re only there in fragments.

So, I’m going to exercise and memorize verses until I have my surgery. I’m going to lose a lot of muscle tone during the six weeks, and my running mileage is going to be shot when I start over. I might even forget some of the verses I learned just prior to the surgery (maybe I’ll blame the anesthesia). But, this strength is for the surgery, too.

Please keep me in your prayers on Tuesday morning during my surgery. I’m going to be taking some time off from writing while I recover, but I’ll be back as soon as I can to let you know how I’m doing.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2008/02/21/amys-atrophy-attributed-ambivalence/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ll be praying!

  2. I admire your gumption, or perhaps the correct word is determination, to keep on going forward. Hooray! A time of rest is coming up (and I’ll be praying for you re the surgery and recovery) but be encouraged, the glass is also half full! Maybe the verses won’t come to mind readily, but they are in there, and you are feeding your spirit with truth and light.

  3. I’ll be praying, and while you are recovering perhaps you can listen to some of recording the scriptures, both spoken and set to music. It will sure beat watching TV (after my surgery I watched TV, and found that the television series M*A*S*H was on 24/7….I now can barely stomach the theme song!)

    I hope your good doctor husband will prove to be a good nurse for you as well!

    And yeah, the memory banks do seem to get wipe out while under the knife. If only we could be selective about what is gone, and be able to come out of it with all our bad and hurtful memories removed!)

  4. I’ll be praying for you Amy and look forward to seeing you writing here again soon.

  5. Blessings on your sleep tonight and on your surgeon’s hands tomorrow.

  6. Thanks all for your prayers and words of wisdom. I truly appreciate it. My surgery will be bright and early at 7:20 a.m. tomorrow (Tuesday, February 26th), Pacific Standard Time. I should be under the knife for about two hours.

    I have already experienced a great deal of God’s peace, which I’m sure has come from all the prayers being sent up on my behalf. I’ll try to send word out on how things went as soon as I can.

    Blessings in Christ,

    Amy

  7. Praying for you, Amy!


Leave a Reply

