Amy’s New Year’s Resolution 2008

I’ve had several years to solidify my New Year’s resolution habits, so I’m pretty sure where I’ll be on January 1st.  Of course, there’s the typical weight loss one, and I expect to forget about that somewhere around the second week of January.  Actually, I stopped making that one official a long time ago.  I was just setting myself up for disappointment.  It’s just penciled in. 

My unique contribution to the world of New Years’ Resolutions is my “low risk” resolution. Every year, I’ll resolve to make some change in my life that is practical yet infinitesimally small, so I’m guaranteed to accomplish it  Therefore, when I check it off my list, I get to feel all proud and happy that I’ve fulfilled my resolution for the year.  I also don’t risk too much disappointment for failure.

One year, I resolved to organize my sock drawer.  On Janurary 1st, I completed my resolution in under 15 minutes, and I happily went on to look forward to next year’s pathetic accomplishment.

Other years, I tackled “learn to bake a pie” and “learn German.”  Now, learning German might sound complicated, but I chose to interpret it as “any amount of the German language.”  I settled on “ein Flugzeug,” which is very helpful in airports. 

This year, I’m thinking about resolving to memorize more scripture.  But, of course, I won’t say it that way.  I’ll probably commit to memorizing one verse of scripture, and on January 1st, I’ll turn to “Jesus wept” (John 11:35), memorize it, and feel satisfied with my accomplishment.

By now, you’re probably realizing there’s something terribly wrong with me.  I think I’m finally coming to terms with it too.

You know who I remind myself of?  I’m just like the foolish servant in Jesus’ parable of the talents (Matthew 25:14-30).  In the parable, a man entrusts money to three servants, and two of them invest it wisely while he is away, while one of them digs a hole in the ground and hides it because he is afraid of the master (25:25).  The master rewards the servants who invests and earns returns, but the servant who does nothing gets punished.

Like the foolish servant, God has entrusted me talents, abilities, and resources that I’m unwilling to risk for his glory.  I’m too worried about disappointing him or feeling like a failure. 

Maybe this year, I should resolve to take more risks.  Of course, I’m not talking about foolish ones, like dumping all my money into one stock or devoting my life to becoming a tap dancer.  Then again, plenty of people in the bible have taken “foolish” risks in the eyes of this world for the sake of the next one. 

So, here’s my official New Year’s resolution:  In 2008, I will take more risks for God’s glory. 

(By the way, today’s your last chance to submit for the context to win the book.  Click here to enter.)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2007/12/31/amys-new-years-resolution-2008/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What do you think taking more risks for the glory of God will look like for you?

    Sorry — I’m a planner; so, I had to ask!

  2. Good question! For now, i’m praying for specifics. I think part of this is being willing to hear what risks God is asking me to take and take leaps of faith for him.

    So far, I’m pretty sure my risks are going to be in the areas of scripture memorization, which I mentioned a bit in the post and also int trying to get some work published. In the near future I’m going to be writing about my long history of failure in the memorization area, so stay tuned to learn more about this one.

    As for the publishing thing, if I’m afraid of rejection, those rejection letters are something I’m going to have to get past!

  3. Hi Amy,

    I’ll be interested to hear about your ideas for scripture memorization. This has been on my mind for a while too and is something that I’ve struggled with…please let us know what tips you have for us in this area 🙂

    Happy New Year !

  4. I memorized Scripture as a child and those verses stuck with me. As an adult I had NO success with additional memorization until I used scripture set to music.
    I discovered this when we attended a Messianic congregation and all the songs (very lively or beautiful chorus type songs) were word for word scripture.
    Added bonus: We would sing in English, then the same scripture in Hebrew, then back to English.
    Before long I was shocked to discover that I now knew rather lengthy Bible passages, and when attending other churches would find myself mouthing the verses from memory when the pastor would refer to them.
    Added bonus: I can hack my way through very basic praise in Hebrew too.

    Marty Goetz, Lamb, Barry and Batya Seigel…most of my favorite Messianic song writers pen songs directly from Scripture, often with only tiny variations. Sometimes their music gets stuck in my head: Kumi ori, ki va orech (Isaiah 60:1) from Hannukkah has been stuck for weeks now, but how bad can it be to have one’s brain singing “Arise, shine, your light has come!” all through the Christmas season anyway?
    (Happy 8th day of Christmas by the way…)

    Most hymnals will say what verses the hymns are based on, some are almost word for word too.

    One time I made a list of all the scriptures I had learned via music, and it just blew me away. My only complaint is that I can’t always remember the reference on each song; that is the book, chapter and verse number. But I can always google a phrase from the song and get that in a jiffy.

    With you spiffy new piano, I have a feeling you could play and memorize a HUGE amount of scriptures this year.

  5. yes! Take those risks! We cannot know the power of Jesus Christ until we get out of the boat and trust him.

  6. One of the pastors (Mark Altrogge) from a Sovereign Grace church in Indiana, PA put out a few CDs called “Hide the Word.” They are scripture set to music:
    You can find them here:
    http://www.sovereigngracestore.com/category.aspx?categoryID=1941

  7. Excellent post, Amy. There is rarely any significant accomplishment without first taking a risk. I hope you let us know when you take one of these newly resolved risks.

  8. Amy, I just wanted to say how much I have enjoyed reading your blog these past few weeks since I discovered you (with Jill’s help) and I am looking forward to continuing to visit in 2008.

    Happy New Year. I’m interested to see how your Scripture memorization goes. I am not good at that, but I do often recall snippets and bits of Scripture, sometimes even where on the page in my Bible it is situated, but not the book or verse….I use my concordance a lot!

    I like Jill’s idea – musical Scripture memorization. Wish I had learned how to play the piano, that’s a wonderful blessing that you can enjoy playing. My husband is a trained musician (piano)…I see how much it means to him.

    Happy New Year to you and yours!

  9. I laughed at the sock drawer resolution! HA!!!!!!!! 😀


Leave a Reply

