The Letinsky Christmas

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas.  I certainly did.  Friends, family, presents, cats, and a day in the hospital…what more could anyone ask for?

The hospital part isn’t as bad as it sounds.  Dan was on call on Christmas Day, and I couldn’t stand the thought of leaving him alone at the hospital on Christmas.  So, I camped out in the residents’ on-call room all day and evening, catching glimpses of him as he ran between patients. 

After only seeing him for one or two minutes at a time, it looked like we were going to get a full dinner together, but shortly after we sat down to eat, the loudspeaker announced a code.  His response time was incredible, and he shot out of there to perform CPR on someone.  I sat there, fork still in midair, watching the door close behind him. 

I’m thankful that my family was willing to celebrate Christmas a little early this year, so we didn’t have to open presents between resuscitations.

My big Christmas surprise this year was a piano from my hubby.  It’s one of those realistic electric types that I can plug headphones into when he’s post-call and sleeping in the middle of the day, or when I’ve got insomnia and feel like playing a little Chopin at 2:00 a.m. (which has been known to happen).  What a thoughtful guy!

The Transformers that I gave him don’t exactly hold a candle to that surprise (although it’s awfully cute seeing him re-living his childhood with those things)!

The piano came at just the right time because shortly after Christmas, we both came down with the stomach flu, and about all I was good for was laying on the couch and reading, watching TV, or plinking around on the piano (with vomit bucket near by). 

I’ve been out of commission for a few days, but mercifully, food is slowly starting to look better.  Dan sprang back into action after a relatively short period of convalescence, making me grossly envious of his immune system.  I think guys just bounce back from these things faster, but I don’t have any proof or studies to back me up on it.

The main reason I’m writing today is to remind you all that my book contest is rapidly coming to a close.  Your last chance for submissions is on the 31st.  If you have no clue what I’m talking about, and you started salivating at the mention of a contest, click here to learn more about the upcoming drawing for a free book.

Published in: on December 29, 2007 at 11:00 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2007/12/29/the-letinsky-christmas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This X-Mas is really wonderful just like you’ve said since God Jesus has answered my personal prayers. almost all of them are answered. hope yours too. blessings.

  2. Ah Amy…sick Christmas tales are part of the texture of life. It is funny how I can so vividly remember the Christmas times when opening gifts was a chore; when all I really wanted was to just go back to bed.

    Last year Laura worked on Christmas day and to my shame our whole family kept putting off leaving the house to go be with her (as were ALL the other staff member families.) When she walked in the door and asked “where were you guys???” I had never felt like such a poor excuse for a other.
    I am so proud of all the medical personel and their families who stay to care and make the day as cheery as possible.
    Maybe sometime you could post some of your music? I’d love to hear you play.

    Happy Seventh Day of Christmas….

  3. Jill,

    It’s easy to forget all the people who work on Christmas just so we all can enjoy the day in peace, health, and safety. Everyone working at the hospital was full of holiday cheer. I loved walking around the corridors and being greeted by janitorial staff who eagerly wished me a Merry Christmas. It was very special.

    Someday, I might get past my perfectionist tendencies and share something I play, online. For now, I’m trying to get back into piano playing. It’s been many years since I’ve had my own piano, so I’m a bit rusty. It’s frustrating to sit down to play a piece of music that used to come so easily! It will come back eventually, just with lots of practice!


Leave a Reply

