Joy in Conflict

After a week off, I’m back to my short stories.  The story for this week, on the topic of joy, is focused on joy in the midst of conflict (Click here to watch or listen to the sermon on this topic.)

Once again, I’m writing a 100 word (or less) story on this topic (here’s the original post describing my project). 

For those of you who are following along in the Bible, this section focuses on Philippians 3:1-11. 

In all honesty, I’ve struggled a bit with this one.  Not only was it a tough to draw out of this particular section of scripture (I needed to find other scripture references that helped me understand this concept better), I personally am having issues with this concept in my life.  I suppose it’s timely.  So, after a lot of scripture study on the topic, prayer, and discussions with my husband (who is very wise, especially about this sort of thing), I came up with this short story.

Joy in Conflict

I found a seat in back of the large auditorium.  I didn’t want to be there.  Mark had somehow convinced me.  His enthusiasm was always catchy.

A huge banner stretched across the stage:  “The God Controversy.”  Mark had told me the discussion was sponsored by a bunch of churches, the Mormons, Jehovah’s Witnesses, the local mosque, and a group of atheists. 

Audience participation was encouraged.  That’s why Mark was there. 

I thought it was just going to be one big spectacle, with people yelling at each other. “It could get ugly,” I’d said.

“Exactly,” he’d told me.  “They need help.” 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2007/12/04/joy-in-conflict/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I’m facinated by drabbles as well. What a challenge you have taken on.
    My husband and I were just talking about how it does get messy/uncomfortable/ugly when speaking truth, even with love. Finding a forum like you described is wonderful to work out what needs and doesn’t need to be said, but at the end of the day,usually it is the love that is shared that wins others to any faith, rather than profound argument.


Leave a Reply

