Amy’s Top 10 Christmas Books for Women

Pastor C.J. Mahaney of Soverign Grace Ministries, founding pastor of Covenant Life Church in Maryland (now headed by Joshua Harris), recently announced his yearly list of top Christmas books for the man in your life (click here to read the list).  For me, it’s just another reason to buy more books, which I don’t mind one bit (click here to read a funny list of more excuses for buying books).

I decided to do my own version of Mahaney’s list, but I’d like to focus on books for women.  I’m a regular listener to Moody Radio’s Midday Connection program, which features Christian authors discussing their most recent books, so I’m familiar with most of the current books on women’s issues.  I also spend a great deal of time in bookstores, browsing the newest hot topics and finding the best new books that are out there.  Also, if you’ve spent any time reading this blog, you probably know that I read a lot, so I’ve had some time to peruse several of these books ahead of time.

What follows are my top 10 Christmas recommendations for the women in your life, in no particular order.

grownupgirlfriends.jpg

Grown up Girlfriends: Finding and Keeping Real Friends in the Real World
By Erin Smalley and Carrie Oliver

I can imagine that this book would be great for friends to give to each other. I was touched and saddened to learn that one of the authors, Carrie Oliver, had cancer while writing the book, and she died from the disease shortly after it was published.

steppping-heavenwards.jpg

Stepping Heavenward: One woman’s Journey into Godliness
By Elizabeth Prentiss

This book isn’t anything new, but I recently discovered it.  So, it’s new to me.  Even though Prentiss wrote it in the mid 1800s, it’s surprisingly applicable to life today and an enjoyable read.

completelyhis.jpg

Completely His: Loving Jesus Without Limits
By Shannon Ethridge

The first chapter is worth the price of this book.  In it, you’ll read Ethridge’s never before told story (publicly) of her vehicular homicide and the love that Jesus shows her through the entire ordeal.  It’s an amazing testimony of God’s grace. 

yupnopemaybe.jpg

“Yup.” “Nope.” “Maybe.”:  A Woman’s Guide to Getting More out of the Language of Men
By Stephen James and David Thomas

My husband and I listened to an interview with the authors, and I couldn’t believe some of the things that go through mens’ minds.  He assured me that, in fact, men actually think this way.  Scary at times, but true. 

momsoncall.jpg

The Moms on Call Guide to Basic Baby Care
Laura Hunter, LPN and Jennifer Walker, RN

This book is great for new moms.  It’s written by pediatric nurses and moms who give their tried and true advice in a simple and easy to understand format.  Plus, these ladies are believers, which gives this book a unique perspective that a lot of the other baby books don’t have.  I can’t say that I have benefited from their advice as of yet, but when the time comes, this book will be on my shelf.

731980_1_ftc_dp.jpg

Singing Through the night: Courageous Stories of Faith from Women in the Persecuted Church

By Anneke Companjen

rest-of-god.jpg

The Rest of God: Restoring your Soul by Resorting Sabbath
By Mark Buchanan

This book doesn’t sound very exciting from the cover, but believe me, it’s extremely well written and insightful.  It changed my heart about Sabbath and got me to slow down and rest in God’s peace.  What books have done that for you lately?  This is the one book on the list that might work for a man as well as a woman.

athousandsplendidsuns.jpg

A Thousand Splendid Suns
By Khaled Hosseini

This is the only mainstream fiction entry on my list, but I think it’s the best fiction of the year.  Hosseini returns to war torn Afghanistan and tells another story, just as poignant as the Kite Runner, from a woman’s perspective. 

home-to-holly-springs.jpg

Home to Holly Springs
By Jan Karon

Anyone who loves Jan Karon’s Mitford series will be anxious to start her new series focused on Father Tim.  This is the first book in the series, and it was just released (just in time for the holidays, no doubt). 

moments-with-you.jpg

Moments with You: Daily Connections for Couples
By Dennis and Barbara Rainey

This is a great one for a husband to give to a wife, with a note that tells her that he wants to commit to reading the book with her for the year.  We women really dig that sort of thing.  Another great idea for this book is friends and family members who want to give it to couples, along with a certificate for attending a Weekend to Remember conference in your area.  Dan and I went to one and really think they’re great for couples in any stage of marriage.  Click here for a listing of conferences in your state

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2007/11/16/amys-top-10-christmas-books-for-women/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Really appreciate these suggestions! ~Linda

  2. For anyone interested in winning a free copy of Grown up Girlfriends, I’m running a contest from now until the end of the year (December 31st). Visit this post and leave a comment to enter: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2007/12/20/free-book-giveaway-grown-up-girlfriends/.

  3. I will check out MOMENTS WITH YOU. My wife’s birthday is next week and I was looking for something. Appreciate the suggestion.

  4. Those are great books! A few on my list of “things to read when I have more time”. Thank you for sharing!

    AL: Thanks for stopping by! I’ll have to think of a new list for this Christmas!


Leave a Reply

