Priceless Blackberries

“Ouch! Dang blackberries!” I say, sucking my blackberriesblog.jpgblackberriesblog.jpgpoor, pricked finger. “Ouch! Dang blackberries!” I say, when I re-injure myself a few seconds later.

Picking blackberries is a bittersweet end of summer activity.  The thorns tear at my clothing and hands, and I constantly have to swat away bees and avoid fat spiders.  But each time I soothe my bleeding fingers in my mouth, a sweet mixture of blackberry juice, dirt, and blood reminds me that some pain is worth its rewards.  The big bowl of plump, delicious blackberries helps, too.

In the Northwest, blackberries grow wild.  You’ll find them along country roads, beside creek beds and rivers, encroaching upon gardens, and bordering properties.  The thick, untamable brambles are an eyesore for many locals, who dig them up one year, only to find them returning then next. 

I like blackberry bushes.  The sweet black fruit grows by the wayside, available free for any passerby.  Even where I live, in Seattle, there are several good blackberry bushes to harvest.  Most people walk by them, not even acknowledging nature’s bounty, spread out before them.  I want to stop them and tug at their shirtsleeves, “Excuse me, sir, you need to stop a moment and feast on this incredible fruit, a free gift for you.”

I think part of the reason people devalue the blackberry around here is precisely because it’s free.  People like to assign worth to things based on their cost.  My dad once advised me that it’s easier to get rid of something if you assign a price to it.  I wanted to put something by the side of the road, marked “free.”  And he told me that if I really wanted someone to take it, I should mark it $20.  It would be gone the next day.  He was right.

In a study at the University of Bordeaux, a student tested this theory on wine.  He served participants a mid-range Bordeaux wine and put it in a cheap wine’s bottle, one for vin de table, their equivalent of 2 Buck Chuck.  The tasters said the wine was “simple,” “unbalanced,” and “weak.”  A week later, the student used the exact same wine and put it in an expensive wine’s bottle.  This time, the reviewers found the wine “complex,” “balanced,” and “full” (Keefe 83).  The perceived value of the bottle magically transformed the value of its contents.

Sometimes I wonder if Christianity loses some appeal because it’s free.  Christ invites the rich and poor.  Everyone is welcome, regardless of financial status.  Attending Sunday services won’t cost you a penny.  On the other hand, there’s plenty of other religions out there that demand money for participation.  Rumor has it that to get to the higher levels of Scientology, you have to pony up a lot of cash.  Maybe that’s why the stars like it so much.  It’s an exclusive club for those who have, and it keeps out those who have not.

What many don’t realize is that Christianity comes at a higher cost than money.  Christ asks that we give him our lives, our hearts, our all-in-all.  To be his disciple, we pay with our very selves: “If anyone comes to me and does not hate his father and mother, his wife and children, his brother and sisters-yes, even his own life-he cannot be my disciple.  And anyone who does not carry his cross and follow me cannot be my disciple” (Luke 14:26-27).

Blackberries taste sweeter to me because they are abundant and free, and they require a sometimes painful labor of love to acquire them.  Christ’s gift is all the sweeter because it costs us so much, but in the end, it’s free for everyone. 

—-

Keefe, Patrick.  “The Jefferson Bottles.” The New Yorker.  3 Sept. 2007:  106-117.

Published in: on September 13, 2007 at 11:36 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2007/09/13/priceless-blackberries/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. yummo… there is nothing better than Northwest’s blackberries. As I grew up outside Portland, my mom used to send us up to Cooper mountain to pick blackberries, 2 pails she would ask. WE knew what was at the end of the day, blackberry cobbler. But the problem was huge, how do you get down Cooper mountain without losing blackberries. Like you said, these berries are juicy and sweet. So I can’t tell you how many times we were sent back to Copper mountain to pick more berries; since we would eat them on the way.

    You used the analogy of wine, it’s the same with everything. You see free~ you think cheap,you see high price tag you see value. Christianity is the same it’s free, okay it’s not a big deal I’ll come back later. I think we should sell christianity at the highest price, because He made the biggest sacarfice. It’s not free, it’s just given….at a rebate

  2. Got to read some more of your wonderful posts while looking for this one.
    What a spiritual picture yu have brought into it.

    AL: Thanks Barbara! Sorry if I forgot to give you that link! Glad you enjoyed finding some other posts.


Leave a Reply

