Everything’s Coming up Daisies

Basil Plant Update:  It’s alive!  Praise God!  Contrary to popular belief and against all previous experience and expectations, I have single handedly managed to keep a basil plant alive on my window sill for well over a month (click here to see my first basil post).  What’s my secret?  I water it every other day, give it heaps of Miracle Grow, and I talk to it.  Dan says that trash talking my plant shouldn’t help, but apparently, it works wonders (It seems to do best with a sprinkle of belittlement and a hint of malicious sarcasm).

Although he might disapprove of my methods (he doesn’t relish explaining to our neighbors why I’m vehemently dissing our plants), Dan offers regular praises for my thriving basil crop.  I’ll pinch off a few leaves to season our dinner, and he’ll proclaim that the food tastes better than ever.  He even polished off my pathetic attempt at homemade basil (somebody better bail me out and help me with a good recipe). 

So, I suppose I shouldn’t have been so surprised when he came home last week with flowers. At first, I didn’t recognize them as flowers because they didn’t come wrapped in tissue paper and plastic.  No, these were potted flowers, Gerbera Daisies to be precise.  The sunny, petite flowers were thriving in a little pot, just waiting to join my basil on the window sill. 

Dan told me that he was proud of how well I’d handled the basil plant.  It hasn’t died.  We haven’t been poisoned from eating it.  I haven’t thrown it out or given up on it.  Best of all, I didn’t turn it over to him to rescue.  So, he decided to reward me by giving me another plant. 

At first, I didn’t know if I could handle the responsibility.  I had a pretty full plate, regularly watering and yelling at my herbs.  Now, he was adding flowers to the mix (How do I know if Gerbera Daisies thrive on mockery and distain as much as basil does?)  But, what was I to do?  There they were, all lovely and delicate, needing a hefty dose of my tender loving care.

God, our Master Gardner, likes to give us Jr. Gardeners plants.  He’ll entrust us with a small amount, and then he’ll see how we do with it.  If we’re faithful, and we take good care of his garden, he’ll often give us more plants to tend to. Jesus demonstrates this same principle with the parable of the talents (Matthew 25:14-30).  A man went a way on a journey and left three servants in charge of his property.  To each servant, he gave five “talents” (roughly equivalent to $5,000).  Two servants invested the money and got good returns, but one servant was lazy and buried his money in the dirt.  When the master got back, he praised the two servants who took good care of his property and made it prosper.  He told each of them, “Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things.  Come and share in your master’s happiness!’ (21). But he fired the lazy servant, who didn’t invest and didn’t even earn 1% interest in a savings account! 

When we are faithful in the little things that God gives us, we shouldn’t be surprised if God decides to give us more gifts and responsibilities.  Sometimes, it might seem a little overwhelming, but God knows how much we can handle.  He promises to never give us a burden bigger than he is strong (Philippians 4:13). 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2007/08/01/everythings-coming-up-daisies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

