Somebody Heard me Singing

Last night, I came home after a nice long run, to find my hard working husband, slaving away over a pile of dirty dishes.  What did I do to deserve this wonderful man?

Standing in the doorway, taking in the peaceful domestic scene before me, I noticed my husband was humming a song.  It sounded vaguely familiar.  “She’s got me spending…spendin’ all your money on me…What you gonna do with all that junk? All that junk inside that trunk? I’ma get, get, get, get, you drunk, Get you love drunk off my hump…my hump…my lovely lady lumps”

“Oh dear,” I thought to myself.  “He found my Mp3 player.”

Without realizing it, I’d introduced my husband to the Black Eyed Peas, and probably one of their least redemptive songs. The previous night, I’d been doing some chores while he was doing some paperwork.  I had on my Mp3 player, as usual, and I was apparently singing out loud along with the music. 

At work yesterday, as he met with patients, as he worked on charts, Dan found himself humming a wide range of songs that he’d overheard me singing.  He’d decided to listen to the songs for himself, so he at least knew more than the one or two lines that were incessantly running through his head.

Dan looked like a little kid with his hand caught in the cookie jar.  He smiled sheepishly and confessed what he’d been doing.  We laughed awhile about our differing tastes in music.  At least, he was glad to know why he’d been singing about his “lovely lady lumps” all day.

Until I married Dan, I never realized how often I sing to myself when I’m wandering about the house.  Apparently, I break out into song all the time, and I rarely have a memory of it.  With all this singing going on, I suppose I should be thinking about what messages I’m sending.  I can’t very well go about broadcasting about the “junk inside my trunk” all the time.

When we go about our lives, singing along our merry way, what do people hear when they’re around us?  What messages do we send?  Like it or not, people are listening.  Our words and the songs we sing can get stuck in their heads (kind of like those annoying Kit-Kat commercials). 

You never know who is listening.

May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer” (Psalm 19:14).

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2007/07/12/somebody-heard-me-singing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. good insight. It is amazing how God speaks to us isint it?

    While I read this I also thought about the messages that we are not sending and how that can speak to people as well.

    hmmmm
    God Bless


Leave a Reply

