The Messiah Detergent: Eliminates Stains & Bleaches Whites!

 Okay, I want to know what idiot came up with the brilliant idea that Doctors should wear WHITE coats. Today is laundry day, and I noticed that my husband threw his white coat into the pile to be sorted.  For those of you who don’t know, Dan is a Family Practice resident doctor.  I’ve been washing white coats for some time now, but since he graduated from medical school, the coat got a lot longer. So now, there’s a lot more room for stains.

Armed with my trusty stain-stick and Clorox Bleach Pen (I have to buy those things in bulk), I attacked this week’s casualties of medical warfare.  “Hmm, I think to myself, that looks suspiciously like…ewwww!!”  You know, I really don’t want to think too hard about whose or what bodily fluids my husband brings home on his white coat.  Sometimes it’s worse than others. Thankfully, today’s mess isn’t so icky.  It’s a lot of pen marks, a few mystery blobs, some definite mealtime mishaps, and lots and lots of general wear and tear, hospital grime.

One time in particular, early in Dan’s training, I had a super big mess to deal with, one that caught me completely off guard.  Dan showed up at our home, very late one night, and knocked at the door.  I thought that was strange, since he normally lets himself in.  Once I opened the door, I could see why he didn’t want to come in.  He was soaked, head to toe, with blood.  It wasn’t his blood.  He’d been in an agonizingly long surgery, where he’d had to massage a man’s liver for hours on end (thankfully, the patient survived).  After I recovered from the shock of seeing Dan that way, I helped him remove his blood covered sneakers, which he left outside.  After I cleaned him up, and we had some time to talk through his ordeal, I ventured to clean his clothing.  Fortunately, the hospital issued scrubs got cleaned at work, so I didn’t need to deal with those.  His formerly white tennis shoes were the worst part.  With lots of soap, bleach, elbow grease, and hazardous chemicals, I managed to make his shoes look fairly clean again.  However, they never did look the same.  They were always slightly tainted after that. 

Why did I subject you to this gruesome story?  I want to demonstrate how amazing it is that there’s one blood that has the power to cleanse us of all our dirt.  Just as blood can stain like nothing else, there’s one type of special blood that has the power to clean anything.  Jesus’ blood has the power to wash away our sins.  Isaiah tells us, “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool” (1:18).  There’s nothing too dirty that his blood can’t clean.

Apparently, Jesus’ blood is also the best sort of laundry detergent.  In Revelation, all the saints get their robes washed by his blood, and guess what color they end up?  WHITE!  It says, “These are they who have come out of the great tribulation; they have washed their robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb” (Revelation 7:14).  This side of heaven, I’m going to stick to my Clorox pens and stain stick.  If anybody else has suggestions for getting stains out of a white coat, I’d love to hear them!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2007/06/07/the-messiah-detergent-eliminates-stains-bleaches-whites/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I heard of using vinegar. I just heard that though.
    I loved how used this in an analogy, like also when you get stuck in a trouble spot, a God’s up there with TIDE pen. What a thought?

  2. Hey Amy, great post. It brought to mind the old hymn “Jesus Paid it All” with the chorus:

    Jesus paid it all,
    All to Him I owe;
    Sin had left a crimson stain,
    He washed it white as snow.

    By the way, Passion Worship Band (Chris Tomlin and friends) has a great cover of it on their “Everything Glorious” cd. Both you and Dan deserve kudos for being willing to get a little blood on your clothes in an effort to help others. It’s hard to make a difference without being willing to get a little dirty.

  3. Blood as bleach…the old hymns seemed very comfortable with lots of talk about blood, “fountains of blood” was one phrase.
    My daughter’s a bone marrow transplant bs/rn. She and her tribe say they can handle anything, except when “it” gets on their shoes. PTL for Crocs!


Leave a Reply

