The Shampoo for Discontented Hair


I was shopping for some shampoo for my husband the other day, and his typical brand, which he’s used for the 6 years we’ve been married, has made some changes.  No longer can I simply choose Pantene Pro-V 2-in-1 shampoo and conditioner. Now, there are about 30 different varieties of this particular formula.  Normally, I’m all for choices.  However, these choices indicate a deeper concern. Let me list them for you:

Smooth and Sleek (for frizzy hair)
Sheer Volume (for hair that’s limp and needs a boost)
Daily Moisture Renewal (for dry/damaged hair)
Color Revival Hair (for dyed hair that’s drab)
Hydrating Curls (to keep your dry curls moist and under control)
Full & Thick (for thin/thinning hair)

What’s the problem, you ask?   I was standing in the isle for 20 minutes staring at the descriptions for these things, thinking to myself, “I like my husband’s hair.  There’s nothing wrong with it.”  

When all our products are tailored to fix our problems, we start looking for the problems, so we know what product to pick. These products make us focus on our flaws. I had to start thinking about what was wrong with my husband’s hair.  I started finding weaknesses, all for the sake of choosing his shampoo.  How many other ways does our culture ask us to examine our flaws, all for the sake of making a purchase or choosing our entertainment? 

Our society is constantly pushing us to be discontent with our appearance, with what God has given us, with our situation in life.  Instead, God has called us to a different mentality.  Paul accomplished this:  I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want” (Philippians 4:11-12). 

Which shampoo did I choose?  I’ll just say that I chose the one that insulted my husband’s hair the least.

As a side note, since going to the store, I checked Pantene’s website, and they advertise a variety called “Classic Clean” that no store around me seems to carry.  That sounds like the old formula, guaranteed to fix the only problem my husband’s hair has, which is that it occasionally gets dirty.

Published in: on May 16, 2007 at 10:21 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2007/05/16/the-shampoo-for-discontented-hair/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

