“Have Patience. Have Patience. Don’t Be in Such a Hurry”

Normally, I’m not a very patient person. Dan likes to sing the “Have Patience” song to me when I get particularly restless (and he gets an eyeroll from me every time).  So when you add pregnancy to the mix, I’m downright jittery with anticipation.

I’m over 9 weeks along, and eagerly looking forward to the 12th week, that special time when I begin the second trimester and am supposed to start feeling better.  Thankfully, I seem to be making small improvements each week, so it’s not going to be the magical moment I cross the threshold into the second trimester and suddenly feel better. I’m getting a little relief as I go.  But my struggle is with patience, which I’m learning is the number one lesson in pregnancy.

A pregnant woman gets really good at waiting.  We’ve got 9 months (well, over that if you really do the math, but let’s not dwell on that too much) to watch our bellies grow, go through weekly, sometimes daily changes, both good and bad, that eventually lead to the great reward, months of sleepless nights! No, of course I mean a baby, but these days, I’m wondering how in the world I’m going to make it.

So I’m depending a lot on God’s grace, in helping me be patient, to be content in the moment. And let me tell you, when you’re puking several times a day and pretty much stuck to the couch for most of the day (Dan jokes that my job right now is the keep the couch from flying away), it’s hard to be very content with life and patient for the next stage. It’s also hard not to be a self-centered whiner.

I find it appropriate that Paul uses childbirth as an example of the suffering that we Christians endure while awaiting Jesus’ return:

“For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies” (Romans 8:22-23). 

Perhaps by keeping my eyes on that prize, the ultimate one that awaits all believers, this time too will be endurable: “For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us” (Romans 8:18).

And the answer might just be hope, which is another gift of the Spirit: “But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience” (Romans 8:25).

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://amyletinsky.wordpress.com/2010/01/21/have-patience-have-patience-dont-be-in-such-a-hurry/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Babies are certainly worth it, but I’m glad to be on the male side of the equation.

    AL: Keeping my eye on the prize…

  2. Good blog Amy! Embrace change and try not to worry.
    The Bible has a lot to say about worry- as I’m sure you know !
    I believe as you start to feel better you’ll be more
    patient, and be filled with happy anticipation.
    And don’t believe all the sleepless night stories.
    You slept 7 or 8 hours a night, from the day you came home from the hospital. Have Faith and feel better
    soon.

    AL: Thanks mom. Here’s hoping the baby takes after me in that way! But I’m not so sure I want to give birth to a 9 lb baby!

  3. I’ll be praying for you, Amy. Pregnancy is a really great time — there is a lot of anticipation and many wonderful things to look forward to, great things to come. You will likely be pampered and flattered like never before in your life as well — enjoy it while you have it.

    One thing that I remind myself of when I’m pregnant is the fact that each new experience is something special. But at the same time, yes, you’re always waiting. First you will wait for the first trimester to be over, then you’ll wait for your bump to show. Then you’ll be waiting for the baby to quicken. After that you’re waiting for the third trimester to start, then for the baby to ‘drop.’ Then you’re waiting for birth to come, those first pains of contractions.

    At the end of the day, you’ll have a precious and tiny gift from God — His beautiful, wonderful miracle. And in that moment, when you first hold that new little creation to your chest… You’ll forget ALL about pregnancy, and labor, and any pain that you had. Because that little one makes it all worth it.

    Good luck!

  4. Congratulations Amy….I’ve not been by in a while and this is the first I’ve heard of your wonderful news!

  5. Every day of pregnancy is a precious gift…even when you feel sick. I still marvel that there was a time when my children grew inside of me. With the first born the thought never left my mind, with the second it seemed as though I only remembered I was pregnant every once in a while. I wish I could go back and just luxuriate in those days.

    On the other hand: my next door neighbor is currently a mother to a 12 month old daughter, is due with daughter #2 in April, is working 120 hrs a week doing her medical residency in surgery, AND is putting together a start-up medical application company. She has a second Phd as well, and her husband (a totally sweet heart of guy!) is an airline pilot.

    I can barely keep my sock drawer organized or make lunch some days…and she is doing all this while pregnant???? I feel like such a putz.

    AL: Ugh. She’s too much!

  6. The older you get the less “firsts” you have in life. But in your first pregnancy you get to have all kinds of firsts – first kick, first time you see the baby on ultrasound, first baby shower, even the first nausea and aches & pains. Enjoy them all as much as you can.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers